top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshley Steinberg

Baking for the Bach: Prom Edition


This week's episode aired ahead of a long holiday weekend and it was... something. We, and the men, are greeted by a gaggle of Michelle's students who somehow were the second group of kids in one season despite not even being able to bring Michael's kid on Katie's season in the flesh once... but I digress.


The episode starts with a Cosby-free "Kids say the Darndest Things', featuring gems like a spot on critique of Martin's untrustworthiness and the astute observation that Clayton would be great at carrying groceries with his big muscles, a quality I look for in all prospective husbands and apparently one that should be found in all bachelors. He shined more with these kids than on any dates thus far with Michelle, so much so, in fact, that they choose him for the one-on-one this week.


We don't hear any deep conversations, but we do get to see more of his funky personality which I guess works. The night basically consists of my tenth birthday party plans—pizza in a limo and a trip to a museum which Michelle seems wowed by despite mentioning she's been there a ton with her kids already.


And despite Clayton's wackiness and their seemingly good chemistry, it seems like Michelle isn't as smitten with him as she is with any of the other remaining men, so he sadly gets the boot. He doesn't even really cry until after he reads the fake letters from the kids the next day which seems weird. Honestly, the only reason I'm sad to see him go is because of how cocky Martin is when he predicts Clayton won't get the rose.


The group date takes place on not-so-old Mc-Young's farm. Rodney looks terrified, Martin looks like he's afraid of breaking a nail and Nayte and Joe take it as an opportunity to try to one up each other, although it ends up being the Joe show. The best part of this date actually involves Martin too, aka when Michelle chews him out for allll the BS and red flags he's been waving this entire season.


Brandon and Michelle then go on the second one-on-one and his response to ice cream is not only the best reaction I've seen to date, but it tells me everything I need to know about him—he's a keeper! It's a super cute and normal date and they act like teenagers sneaking around her house, but when she gives him her dad's bathing suit to wear, I have to admit, I cringed. I cringed almost as much as I cringed during the end scene they added with the kids and Clayton. We get it, you want him to be a beloved bachelor.

Next up are hometowns with Michelle meeting the guys' parents and the dates seem like they'll be low key in the best way. From the preview I can see that Rodney and Michelle go apple picking and biking, and Joe recreates prom, which is what I decided to focus on.

So in the spirit of spiking punch at prom, I decided to spike my dessert. And since I'm also celebrating Channukah, and wanted to add some apple flair in the spirit of apple picking, I went with apple cider donuts (and if you're so bold, you can also add the amazing Fireball glaze I stole from this cake recipe).


Just a warning, you will need a donut baking mold for these to take shape, but I imagine you can fry these up as doughnut holes if you don't have one and they'd be just as good. The cinnamon sugar or fireball topping both work on these and make them deliciously spicy and sweet. And with or without the cinnamon spike, they will definitely fire you up for the prom night dance floor... or just to stay awake and sufficiently sweetened for the episode.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page